Libertarian Party of Marion County Elects New Officers

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – The Libertarian Party of Marion County (LPMC) held its officer elections yesterday, January 18. All elected officers will serve a two year term. Matt Wittlief was elected Chair replacing Timothy Maguire who chose not to seek re-election.

“It is a great honor to be elected to serve my fellow Libertarians in Marion County. We have made great strides in the last few years, and we will no doubt continue our growth in the years to come,” says incoming LPMC Chairman Matt Wittlief. “We have two exciting election cycles coming up with municipal elections in 2011, and, of course a presidential and gubernatorial cycle in 2012. I think we are poised to build on our 2010 results and help shape the political landscape in the county.”

In addition to electing Wittlief as Chair, the membership also filled the rest of the Executive Committee. Elizabeth Karlson was re-elected as Vice Chair, and James Majdak will serve another term as Treasurer. Jason Sipe was elected as Secretary and is a new addition to the Executive Committee. Former Chair Timothy Maguire and former Secretary John Meuser were elected to the remaining At-Large positions on the Executive Committee.

Wittlief continues, “We have a great team in place, and I am very excited to work with the rest of the Executive Committee to continue the growth of the LPMC. I believe we will have a talented slate of candidates for the 2011 municipal elections which will come together at our convention this spring.”

Libertarians do not hold primaries in Indiana, but rather choose candidates at conventions. While anyone is welcome to run for the nomination, the Party will have no official candidates until after the spring convention.


The Libertarian Party is the third largest political party in the United States, and is the only non-major party with ballot access in the state of Indiana. Libertarians believe in a small non-intrusive government that is financially responsible, administratively competent and socially tolerant.

Libertarian Party of Marion County
LPMC Contact: Matt Wittlief, LPMC Chairman, 317.410.0066 or
LPMC Website:

Scroll to Top